

Texas Division of Emergency Management State Situation Report

New Information is in Blue Text

Event Name	25-0008 17FEB Severe Weather				
Date	February 18, 2025				
Time	10:00 AM				
Operational Period	8:00 AM February 17 to 8:00 AM February 18, 2025				
Report Number	1				

Regions Affected	
TDEM Regions Affected	1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 & 8
DDs Active	None

STATEWIDE CURRENT SITUATION:

On February 17, Governor Abbott <u>provided an update</u> during a press conference on Texas' response to wildfire threats in West Texas, potential flash flooding in East Texas, and severe winter weather impacting large portions of the state following a briefing with state officials at the State Operations Center in Austin.

OPERATIONAL PRIORITIES:

- 1. Protect life and property.
- 2. Support rapid & effective response.
- 3. Collect and disseminate accurate incident information to improve decisionmaking.
- 4. Accurately track incident costs associated with assigned resources for cost recovery.

Region 1 (Includes DDs 1, 2, and 7)

DD 1 – Amarillo (Includes Armstrong, Briscoe, Carson, Castro, Childress, Collingsworth, Dallam, Deaf Smith, Donley, Gray, Hall, Hansford, Hartley, Hemphill, Hutchinson, Lipscomb, Moore, Ochiltree, Oldham, Parmer, Potter, Randall, Roberts, Sherman, Swisher, and Wheeler Counties)

DD 2 – Lubbock (Includes Bailey, Cochran, Crosby, Dickens, Floyd, Garza, Hale, Hockley, King, Lamb, Lubbock, Lynn, Motley, Terry, and Yoakum Counties)

DD 7 – Abilene (Includes Brown, Callahan, Coleman, Comanche, Eastland, Fisher, Haskell, Jones, Kent, Knox, Mitchell, Nolan, Runnels, Scurry, Shackelford, Stephens, Stonewall, Throckmorton, and Taylor Counties)

Region 2 (Includes DDs 3, 4, and 22)

DD 3 – Wichita Falls (Includes Archer, Baylor, Clay, Cottle, Foard, Hardeman, Jack, Wichita, Wilbarger, and Young Counties)

DD 4 – Dallas/Ft. Worth (Includes Collin, Dallas, Denton, Ellis, Erath, Hood, Hunt, Johnson, Kaufman, Navarro, Palo Pinto, Parker, Rockwall, Somervell, Tarrant, and Wise Counties)

DD 22 – Sherman (Includes Cooke, Fannin, and Grayson Counties)

Region 3 (Includes DDs 5, 6, 14, and 15)

DD 5 – Mt. Pleasant (Includes Bowie, Cass, Delta, Franklin, Hopkins, Lamar, Morris, Red River, and Titus Counties)

DD 6 – Tyler (Includes Anderson, Camp, Cherokee, Gregg, Harrison, Henderson, Marion, Panola, Rains, Rusk, Smith, Upshur, Van Zandt, and Wood Counties)

DD 14 – Lufkin (Includes Angelina, Houston, Jasper, Nacogdoches, Newton, Polk, Sabine, San Augustine, San Jacinto, Shelby, Trinity, and Tyler Counties)

DD 15 - Beaumont (Includes Hardin, Jefferson, and Orange Counties)

Region 4 (Includes DDs 16)

DD 16 – Houston (Includes Austin, Brazoria, Chambers, Colorado, Fort Bend, Galveston, Harris, Liberty, Matagorda, Montgomery, Walker, Waller, and Wharton Counties)

Region 5 (Includes DDs 19-21)

DD 19 - Laredo (Includes Jim Hogg, Starr, Webb, and Zapata, Counties)

DD 20 – Corpus Christi (Includes Aransas, Bee, Brooks, Duval, Jim Wells, Kenedy, Kleberg, Live Oak, Nueces, Refugio, and San Patricio Counties)

DD 21 – Weslaco (Includes Cameron, Hidalgo, and Willacy Counties)

Region 6 (Includes DDs 17, 18, and 24)

- DD 17 Victoria (Includes Calhoun, DeWitt, Goliad, Gonzales, Lavaca, Jackson, and Victoria Counties)
- DD 18 San Antonio (Includes Atascosa, Bandera, Bexar, Comal, Frio, Gillespie, Guadalupe, Karnes, Kendall, Kerr, McMullen, Medina, and Wilson Counties)
- DD 24 Del Rio (Includes Dimmit, Edwards, La Salle, Kinney, Maverick, Real, Uvalde, Val Verde, and Zavala Counties)

Region 7 (Includes DDs 8, 9, and 10)

- DD 8 El Paso (Includes Brewster, Culberson, El Paso, Hudspeth, Jeff Davis, and Presidio Counties)
- DD 9 Midland/Ft. Stockton (Includes Andrews, Borden, Crane, Dawson, Ector, Gaines, Glasscock, Howard, Loving, Martin, Midland, Pecos, Reeves, Terrell, Upton, Ward, and Winkler Counties)
- DD 10 San Angelo (Includes Coke, Concho, Crockett, Irion, Kimble, Mason, McCulloch, Menard, Reagan, Schleicher, Sterling, Sutton, and Tom Green Counties)

Region 8 (Includes DDs 11, 12, 13, and 23)

- DD 11 Waco (Includes Bosque, Falls, Freestone, Hill, Limestone, and McLennan Counties)
- DD 12 Austin (Includes Bastrop, Blanco, Burnet, Caldwell, Fayette, Hays, Lee, Llano, Travis, and Williamson Counties)
- DD 13 Bryan (Includes Brazos, Burleson, Grimes, Leon, Madison, Robertson, and Washington Counties)
- DD 23 Killeen (Includes Bell, Coryell, Hamilton, Lampasas, Milam, Mills, and San Saba Counties)

RESPONDING STATE AGENCIES/ORGANIZATIONS REPORTS STATE RESOURCES COMMITTED

Texas Division of Emergency Management, Texas A&M University System (TDEM):

Texas A&M University Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences (TAMU-CVM)

Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service Texas Task Force 1 (TEEX/TX-TF1)

Texas A&M Engineering Extension Service Texas Task Force 2 (TEEX/TX-TF2)

Texas A&M Forest Service (TAMFS)

Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ)

Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS)

Texas Military Department (TMD)

TMD has activated up to eight personnel in support of 25-0008 17FEB Severe Weather.

Texas Parks and Wildlife Department (TPWD)

Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT)

Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS)

DSHS has activated one LNO assigned to the SOC for the 25-0008 Severe Weather incident.

Texas Emergency Medical Task Force (EMTF)

EMTF has activated one SCO and one MIST assigned to the SOC for the 25-0008 Severe Weather incident.

Volunteer Organizations Active in Disasters (VOAD)

American Red Cross (ARC)

The American Red Cross has resources on standby to respond to humanitarian needs arising from expected severe weather and other disasters in Texas.

STATE RESOURCES COMMITTED

Agency	Resource Kind and Type	Personnel	Equip	Status	Location
DSHS	LNO	1	0	Assigned	SOC
EMTF	SCO	1	0	Assigned	SOC
EMTF	MIST	1	0	Assigned	SOC
TMD	SOC Support Team	8	0	Assigned	SOC

FINAL COMMENTS: The State Operations Center (SOC) is at Level II (Escalated Response Conditions). The Texas Division of Emergency Management (TDEM)

continues to monitor the situation and will provide additional situation reports as needed.

The four levels of SOC activation are:

Level I (Emergency Conditions)
Level II (Escalated Response Conditions)
Level III (Increased Readiness Conditions)
Level IV (Normal Conditions)

This Situation Report can be found on the TDEM webpage at: https://tdem.texas.gov/response/state-operations-center#tab-3

W. Nim Kidd, MPA, CEM

Chief – Texas Division of Emergency Management Vice Chancellor for Disaster and Emergency Services Texas A&M University System

https://tdem.texas.gov/

Twitter: @TDEM

(512) 424-2208 (24/7)